What is carrageenan? You may do not know much about it. It is because it is not a common thing to be consumed directly. On the other hand, it is something that is usually used in food. You may not realize it because it is only additional ingredient which seems to be invisible. As a strange thing, you may need to know about carrageenan.
Carrageenan is known as a food ingredient and it has a whole host of uses. Mostly, it is used as an alternative food for vegans. It is another option if you are vegans and you have to change the use of gelatin in setting desserts. The carrageenan retains moisture in various kinds of cooked meats and it suspends the chocolate in chocolate milk. It will help preventing the chocolate milk from separating. Using carrageenan can help food to stay delicious and desirable for longer. It means that you could reduce food wastage. Generally, you will find it on regular basis, although you are not realized that.
Even though carrageenan is not so famous, it is harvested from a natural source. It comes from seaweed which is often praised for its many health and wellness benefits. At the same time, seaweed becomes a very useful ingredient where carrageenan is found. It is extracted from a certain type of red seaweed. It is done by boiling it in a gentle, non-acidic broth. Making carrageenan from seaweed is by filtering and milling into a fine powder which can be used in food. In general, the process is simple and you could do it in your kitchen without special equipment. The fact is that many families in Ireland used to do it for hundreds of years. They are capable of incorporating the ingredient into their dishes.